My most precious belonging

What personal belongings do you hold most dear?

My most precious personal belonging has to be the cremation pendant necklace that I have worn constantly since the death of my beloved son, Matthew. I have his urn and ashes with me too as I just couldn’t bear to bury him and I don’t think I ever will. He will be buried beside me when I die.

I keep his ashes, surrounded by photographs and his drumsticks, in my room here, at my eldest son’s house where I now live.

Next to them is Matt’s Bible and the hat that he wore all the way through primary school. I had knitted it for him and he never lost it. He had ADHD so that was truly amazing.

Matthew died on August 18th, 2022, when he took his own life after a long, hard-fought battle with bipolar depression and anxiety. I miss him terribly.

8 responses to “My most precious belonging”

  1. so sorry I never read your comment. Just viewed your profile and you did an amazing job. Sorry to hear about your loss and as you the belongings I hold the dearest to my hear are those little things my children have made for me. Wether it was a simple drawing or a DYI fathers day gift. Family is everything.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Yes, Raul, family is most definitely everything. Thank you for responding.

      Like

  2. I’m sorry for the loss of your son.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Angela

      Liked by 1 person

  3. It’s nice that you still have some things of his that make you feel closer to him. I can’t even imagine your pain. So sorry that you are going through this.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much. Its been a terrible ordeal but yes, I have things that help me feel closer to him.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. It probably helps that you are with your other son, so you can comfort each other.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Yes, he was my rock when it all happened. My grandchildren help so much too, though they were so little that they don’t remember Matthew very well as he lived 5 hours away. They just remember the gifts that he gave them! He was a great gift giver.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment